Dvořákovo nábřeží to be renovated

The street near the waterfront will get wider sidewalks and a bike lane

Prague city councilors approved a concept design for renovating the waterfront street at Dvořákovo nábřeží between Štefánikův most and Čechův most. The estimated cost of the project is Kč 140 million and includes repairing flood damage to the pavement. The plan follows one developed by the Institute of Planning and Development (IPR). Work could begin in 2018.

Prague Deputy Mayor Petra Kolínská (SZ/Trojkoalice) said the goal was not only to make the waterfront area there safe for people journeying to work but also a pleasant place to spend time.

The plan calls for replacing the current narrow four lanes with three wider ones including a bike lane plus wider sidewalks and more pedestrian crossings. Trees will also be renewed, with sturdier maples replacing more delicate linden trees.

Changes should also come the St. Agnes Convent, which is part of the National Gallery. The gardens were recently opened to the public.

A 750-meter-long stretch called Na Františku runs parallel to Dvořákovo nábřeží and has a small number of permanent occupants. The original medieval structures began to be replaced in the 19th century but work ended at the convent walls. Hotels have now replaced some of the public institutions that stood in the area.

The neighboring waterfront is also used as a dock for several boats. The waterfront itself will also be upgraded, but as part of different concept plan that involves changes to the waterfront on both sides of the river from Braník to Troja.

The area between Štefánikův most and Čechův most is part of Prague's Old Town.

Dvořákovo nábřeží is named for composer Antonín Dvořák, who is known for his From the New World Symphony, among other works. The street has had the same name since 1904, the year that Dvořák died.

Štefánikův most, or Štefánik Bridge was built in 1949–51, replacing the Most císaře Františka Josefa I., or Franz Joseph Bridge, which was built in 1865–68. The bridge is currently named for Milan Rastislav Štefánik, a Slovak politician and astronomer. Revoluční street, which marks the border of Old Town, connects to Štefánikův most.

Čechův most, or Čech Bridge, was built in 1905–08, with Art Nouveau details. It is the only steel arch bridge in Prague, and is the shortest one crossing the Vltava. It is named for poet and traveler Svatopluk Čech. The bridge connects to Pařížská street.

Related articles

Facebook comments

FlyPrague

Looking for a memorable experience in Prague?

Salon Petra Měchurová

Petra Měchurová Hair Salon right in the historical center...

Visitor Centre Staropramen

Uncover the unique story behind the Staropramen brewery in...

Sapa trip

Take a guided tour to Sapa, Prague’s “Little Vietnam”

Czechmag

Czech Lifestyle magazine for young people

Pink Bubble Foundation

We help the young to fight cancer

Dobrý anděl

Good Angel Foundation

NNIT Czech Republic

IT advisory, development and outsourcing ​

PragueMonitor.com

Prague’s # 1 source for Czech news in English…

PragueConnect.cz

Expat and Czech Business Professional Network

ManSprichtDeutsch.cz

Deutschsprachiges Informationsportal