SE Palmeiras wins CEE Cup

A Brazilian team won at the Prague-based youth tournament for the first time

The CEE Cup this year went to the Brazilian team SE Palmeiras, which beat Beşiktaş JK of Istanbul, Turkey, in the final match with a score of 4:0. The match was held July 31 at Ďolíček Stadium in Prague’s Vršovice district.

SK Slavia finished third in the tournament, beating FK Sarajevo 4:1 in another match, held a day earlier at Nebušice.

The CEE Cup, in its eighth year, is a football tournament for under-19-year-old players. Eight teams from across the world participated. The other clubs aside from the four teams in the final two matches were AC Sparta Praha, Everton FC, FC Nitra and Bucharest's Academia Sport Team.

The stronger team going into the final was SE Palmeiras, which before the match had scored nine goals and conceded only one (on a penalty), while Beşiktaş JK had scored only four and conceded two.

In the final match, Palmeiras scored three goals in quick succession. The first came in the 41st minute, after a run by Wesley Ribeiro Silva, who entered the box on the left-hand side and shot to the top left-hand corner. Two minutes later a pass down the left-hand side was met by Anibal Gabriel Vega da Silva. He got past the opposing goalkeeper, who was too far out. The third goal in a row was at the 45th minute, with Vinicius Nogueira De Oliveira scoring after a pass.

The second half saw Palmeiras protecting their lead. Beşiktaş made several efforts, but did not remained goalless.

Palmeiras scored once more in 73rd minute. Ribeiro Silva passed the ball to Vega da Silva, who in turn put an assist into the box for Araujo Neri. All he had to do was shoot it to the far right-hand corner for the fourth goal of the match.

Palmeiras is the only Brazilian team to have won the CEE Cup, as Fluminense had gotten close in the past but failed in the end against Sparta.

SK Slavia had an equally exciting match against FK Sarajevo for third place. Going into the match,. Slavia had scored 10 goals and Sarajevo 6.

Slavia scored two goals in rapid succession at the 36th and 37th minutes, only for Sarajevo to come back at the 40th minute to score one for themselves.

Sarajevo was never able to equalize the score, and Slavia came back for two more goals at the 68th at 72nd minutes.

In the entire tournament, Slavia scored 14 goals. The highest individual scorer, though, was Sarajevo's Đani Salčin, with four goals in the tournament.

Final Results
01 SE Palmeiras
02 Beşiktaş JK
03 SK Slavia Praha
04 FK Sarajevo
05 AC Sparta Praha
06 Everton FC
07 FC Nitra
08 Academia Sport Team

Video on YouTube

Related articles

Facebook comments

Burrito Loco Spálená

Tasty Fresh Mexican fast food in Prague

KUKBURG - Farm to table

Our meat and products straight to your table

The James Joyce Irish Pub

Best Irish Pub in Prague

T.G.I. Friday's (Příkopy)

A true legend in the restaurant industry - TGI Friday's

Prague Raptors Football Club

Multi-Cultural, Community Football Club based in Prague

Hugo Bike Prague

HUGO Bike Prague & Segwaytrip

Adventure Minigolf Hotel...

Outdoor Adventure Minigolf

Toboga Prague

Indoor Playground in Prague 5, Zlicin

Prague’s # 1 source for Czech news in English…

Expat and Czech Business Professional Network


German Language Info Service